Welcome to Calvinia’s Monument of Love!
Carmel Villa is a Victorian Heritage Building (renovated and beautifully restored by the new owners) built in 1904 as a token of love between Leon Helfet and his bride Sarah Levin. The house has a great romantic history as the house was built as Leon’s wedding gift to Sarah. Carmel Villa is therefore known as “Calvinia’s Monument of Love” and some locals also refer to the Main House as the “Russian House”.
Come and experience the old fashioned charm of the Victorian Main House or stay in our fully equipped self-catering chalets.
Our substantial farmhouse breakfast is our speciality. It is a real treat as it is served in the style of a classic bygone era.
The 12 tribes of Israel depicted on the gable, “Star of David” at front hall entrance, original broekie lace wrought iron pillars and gates, original stained glass oregon pine doors and oregon pine floors, wrap around verandah, attic finds on display (100+ year old bar of soap, old merchant scale, etc.) and of course the lovely love story for the romantic at heart.